A Rose with Starry Eyes











{February 21, 2010}   Kate Winslet weight articles

Kate Winslet comments on Hollywood anorexia & growing up fat.

Kate Winslet says Hollywood is “breeding anorexics”

Published: January 21, 2010

With hit flicks like ‘Titanic’ behind her, Kate is one of the most respected and appreciated actresses of Hollywood. She has faced weight problems throughout her life, being a chubby child and teenager, and even as a successful actress has always been on the heavier side.

Talking about her fondness for food and her curvy stature, Kate once said: “My uncle is a chef. My mother is a fantastic cook. We’re all big eaters. It was kind of unavoidable.”

The criticism from her classmates and friends led to her depression and she fought her depression through eating disorder. With all the famous female faces opting to lose weight, Kate Winslet has a different opinion and always believed that this disturbing trend is not good for the society as a whole.

Perturbed by this ongoing trend of anorexia and bulimia, Kate spoke out her mind in an interview to Good Housekeeping magazine and said: “It seems to me that (Hollywood) is breeding a whole new generation of anorexics. I look at people and I want to say ‘Look, it’s alright you can eat something.”

Kate was slightly on the heavier side from her childhood days and pouring out her feelings as a chubby child, she was quoted as saying: “As a young girl, I never felt attractive. I was fat and unhappy at times, and that kind of thinking stays with you your entire life. There’s always going to be a part of me that worries about not looking as slim as other actresses.

But today this beautiful British actress is happy with her looks and while expressing her happiness, Kate Winslet said: “I’m happy with the way I am. I’m not like American film stars. I’m naturally curvy. This is me, like it or lump it. People think that if a woman isn’t rail-thin, then there must be something wrong with her – it’s such nonsense.”

Defying this culture of super slim looks in Hollywood, Kate is a perfect role model for many other anorexics and has also donated in eating disorder charity so as to lend her helping hand for this alarming cause.

Other celebrities who have suffered from eating disorders include Mary-Kate Olsen,Sharon OsbourneDaniel Johns and Jane Fonda.

Image: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Kate_Winslet_at_the_BAFTAs_2007.jpg

~

~
`

Actress Kate Winslet has revealed that it was actor Leonardo DiCaprio who helped her get over her weight issues.2274073

The actress revealed that DiCaprio’’s pep talk on the set of ‘Titanic’ helped her come to terms with her body issues.

However, Winslet also confessed that she still finds it hard to deal with fame.

“I”m still coming to terms with (fame) to be honest. I knew from when I was very, very young I wanted to be an actress. I certainly didn”t think it meant making films because to me that was something Judy Garland did,” Contactmusic quoted Winslet, as saying.

“As a child, I was overweight and I was very chubby and I was always the wrong kid at the audition because my hair was wrong and the shoes didn”t fit. I did loose weight very sensibility when I was younger but those says are very much behind me,” she added.

About DiCaprio, Winslet said, “I remember you saying to me one day, ”You”ve really got to let the whole fat girl thing go”. And that’’s the truth, you”re right.” (ANI)

~

~

~

Kate Winslet Talks About Her Body… Again

01.29.2009 by Versus in Kate Winslet, Then and Now

Tagged with: , ,

Kate Winslet Talks About Her Body... Again | kate winslet

As the title simply puts it, Kate Winslet opened up about her body and weight yet again, after the SAG ceremony this weekend. The Daily Mail reports:

On Sunday night, Miss Winslet told the Mail she had thrown caution to the wind and stopped watching her weight during awards season.

‘I feel fat and unhappy next to other Hollywood actresses,’ says Kate Winslet. ‘As long as all of this is going on (awards season), I have stopped exercising and am eating whatever I want,’ she said. ‘That (exercise) has gone out the window for now because I haven’t got time what with awards ceremonies and film premieres in Britain, Europe and elsewhere.’ Miss Winslet has previously admitted she sometimes feels fat next to other Hollywood actresses.

‘As a young girl, I never felt attractive. I was fat and unhappy at times and that kind of thinking stays with you your entire life,’ she said. ‘There’s always going to be a part of me that worries about not looking as slim as other actresses.’

But she said despite struggling with her weight, she does not believe in crash diets or endless trips to the gym. ‘At a certain point, when you achieve a lot of your goals and you can be proud of your work, you start to relax more about who you are,’ she said.

‘I don’t think I look too bad for a mother of two.’

“Eating whatever I want” sounds terribly familiar and quite unbelievable, doesn’t it?

~

~

~

Kate Winslet Talks Body Image in Vanity Fair

11.04.2008 by Versus in Kate Winslet

Tagged with: , , ,

Kate Winslet Talks Body Image in Vanity Fair | kate winslet

Kate Winslet talks body image in Vanity Fair… and gets photoshopped at the same time – quite the pair, right? Here’s what she had to say:

“This is going to sound really weird but I never had a desire to be famous. I never had huge ambitions—never.… I was fat. I didn’t know any fat famous actresses. I just did not see myself in that world at all, and I’m being very sincere. You know, once a fat kid, always a fat kid. Because you always think that you just look a little bit wrong or a little bit different from everyone else. And I still sort of have that. I often look at women who wear great jeans and high heels and nice little T-shirts wandering around the city and I think, I should make more of an effort. I should look like that. But then I think, They can’t be happy in those heels.”

All this gave me an idea – Kate (the real, authentic, curvier and untouched by Photoshop’s hands Kate) would make quite a good competitor in our Skinny VS Curvy battle – so stay tuned and tomorrow we’ll get to vote!

UPDATE: Since the blogoshpere was buzzing about how these Vanity Fair pictures were photoshopped, Kate herself got a little angry – as a result, her representative declared:

“She is in terrific shape and what you see is how she looks or she would never have agreed to pose for those shots. The only retouching was the usual work on skin tone that happens in every glamour shoot.”



et cetera
