A Rose with Starry Eyes











{March 18, 2010}   guest: CRON

CR is an attempt to steal more time. I’ve never seen it as much different than all the others: antibiotics, sanitation, decrease in death in childbirth, etc. Ways we cheat the jungle of nature and make our lives as humans somewhat longer, somewhat more meaningful, than a pitched battle against bacteria on one end and giant beasts on the other. The quest for serious life extension is just the same, on a grander scale. The logic of those who argue that it’s somehow immoral to want to extend your life falls apart so fast that I got bored with arguing with them.

There are, of course, ways in which we give away time. Yoga and meditation have taught me that when we sit quietly with ourselves, we win back time. We don’t have to know why it works, only that it works. When we allow ourselves to experience pure awareness, completely in the moment, we win back time.

By the same token, when we allow others to dictate our path, when we respond rather than acting upon the universe, we give up time. I’ve given away a lot. I stopped media because I realized I was giving up time. My life was being sucked up in defending myself for no good reason, so I quit. I really do have better things to do.

There are so many ways to give up our valuable time… you don’t need me to name them all. We can all think of ways we’ve wasted or given away our life energy in pursuits that really didn’t get us any closer to those we love or anything we wanted.

I put to you that life-extension is about both the physical and the spiritual. What good would it do to extend my biological lifespan if I lacked a spiritual awareness of my world as so much more than flesh and bone? And what good would it do to achieve enlightenment in a body that I was abusing with food (or anything else) to the point where I would die young? For me there’s a balance: yoga and CR, hard work and also deep meditation, a serious relationship. I expect the balance is different for everyone, but I believe it’s there.

link: http://www.mprize.org/blogs/archives/2008/12/



Leave a Reply

et cetera
